What can you eat in the paleo?

What is a paleo diet?

Paleo diet is a transition to traditional food due to the maximum restriction in the diet of semi-finished products and other modern food products manufactured in an industrial manner. The name "paleo" refers to the Paleolithic period, lasting 2.5 million years and ending 15 thousand years ago.

To products strictly forbidden to pale odete are sugar, any kind of cereals and psevodozernovyh cultures( from wheat to buckwheat), beans( beans, lentils, soy) and a variety of dairy products( from butter to cheese).In fact, paleo allows only meat and vegetables.

How and why sugar breaks down the work of metabolism and leads to rapid weight gain. What exactly is sugar harmful?

Cereals and rice: forbidden

Paleo diet does not allow the use of cereals and legumes, as well as brown rice. You should forget about corn, wheat and rye in all their manifestations( bread, pasta, baked goods).Kino, buckwheat and buckwheat flour are also prohibited, because these cultures are cultivated by humans not so long ago.

Regarding white rice, paleo experts disagree. Most of them recommend completely refusing it, but some still allow the use of basmati rice in minimal quantities, referring to the fact that the peeled rice is just pure starch( 4).

Dairy products: it is forbidden

Any milk, exactly like all kinds of dairy products in the form of butter, cheese, cottage cheese and yoghurt are forbidden for consumption by those who adhere to the diet of diets. The main reason is the presence of lactose, however, soy milk is also not allowed, as soy is a legume crop.

Given that most of the protein isolates are made from whey, they are also prohibited from paleo. Among other things, even egg white is banned - it belongs to the category of strong industrial processing products and contains sweeteners.

Drinks and sweets: it is more forbidden

All industrial juices, sweet and carbonated drinks are definitely not allowed in the case of a diets diet - exactly like pure sugar and chemical sweeteners in any form. Tea( especially herbal or green) is allowed, coffee and alcohol are allowed in the most moderate amounts.

Natural sweeteners( primarily natural honey, but not processed stevia) are rather limited than allowed. Freshly squeezed juices are also recommended for failure or significant restriction due to their high content of fast carbohydrates and sugars.

Vegetables and fruits: basically allowed

Although the paleo diet allows vegetables( including tomatoes, asparagus, spinach, broccoli, peppers, cabbage, etc.), it is important to remember that legumes( beans, peas, peanuts) are prohibited. White potatoes are allowed on paleo, however only in moderate doses( 2).

Paleo diet allows fresh fruit to be consumed, however it is recommended to eat sweet fruits in moderate amounts and eat them before or after physical training. In addition, it is preferable to use not exotic fruits, but fruits typical for your region.

Why is a bright apple a chemical mutant, and not a useful fruit at all? Which vegetables and fruits are recommended to refuse?

Nuts and vegetable oils: allowed

The Palio diet allows( most of it) most of the list of nuts - almonds, cashews, walnuts and pine nuts, sunflower seeds. However, peanuts and any of its derivatives( peanut butter) are strictly forbidden, as peanuts are a legume crop.

The oils of the above nuts are also recommended for consumption, as they contain a large number of useful nutrients. Coconut and olive oil are allowed, but exclusively virgin( cold pressing without recycling).Sunflower, rapeseed and soybean oil are prohibited.

Meat and eggs:

allowed Theoretically, paleo allows any meat, eggs and seafood - beef, pork, lamb, chicken, sea and river fish, shrimps and so on. Refuse is required only from meat semi-finished products( sausages, pates, sausages, crab sticks, etc.).

In this case, it is specially stipulated that since modern animal husbandry widely uses corn as a feed for cows, poultry and even salmon, it is better to choose meat grown on traditional herbal fattening for animals and Atlantic, rather than farm, salmon.

***

Paliodieta allows fish, poultry and meat( preferably herb fattening) to eat, eggs, vegetables, fruits, mushrooms and nuts. Grain, flour and flour products, legumes, sugar, milk, dairy products and processed vegetable oils are completely prohibited. Scientific sources:

Scientific sources:

  1. Paleo Diet Food List, source
  2. Are White Potatoes Paleo? , source
  3. Is Buckwheat Paleo? , source
  4. All About Rice, source
  5. What Drinks Are Allowed in the Paleo Diet? , source